We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Phalcon webtools with warnings about binding

I am a C# developer by trade, and am quite familiar and comfortable with MVC applications in ASP.NET & C#. However,where I work, there are some side projects becoming available that use php and Phalcon. I have some experience with php3 many years ago, but haven't done anything recently. So I set up XAMPP on my Windows 7 system with php and MariaDB. I also installed and set up Phalcon. Thus far everything seems ok. However, when I attempt to access the webtools, I get the following warnings:

Warning: Cannot bind an instance to a static closure in C:\PHPPhalcon\scripts\Phalcon\Web\Tools.php on line 355 Warning: Cannot bind an instance to a static closure in C:\PHPPhalcon\scripts\Phalcon\Web\Tools\views\index.phtml on line 15

I'm not familiar enough with the newer elements of php5 where I could attempt to fix this myself. I've read here it was supposedly fixed, and yet here I am with Phalcon 3.02 and still have this issue.

Any help or assitance would be greatly appreciated...

Hi,

first of all: welcome !

You've got a warning during webtools execution, but this is not a fatal error so you may forget it.

The warning displays on the webtools page itself, and it not only distracting, just not all that aesthetically pleasing. And it shows up on subsequent pages... Usually warnings are there for a reason, so I'd like to resolve if it I could instead of just ignoring it.

Usually warnings are there for a reason, so I'd like to resolve if it I could instead of just ignoring it.

You're right, but webtools are here to help you to quickly scaffold a new application, build models and basic crud operations. And I think that it is better to be concentrate on the application you plan to build.