We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

multi-module conventions for phalcon

Hi,

I am very new to phalcon. It's amazing, but I think there is a need for more conventions. So I started this project: https://cernl.com/

Please let me know what you think and please suggest changes to my approach.

edited Dec '16

It looks pretty ok for a setup with many basic sites. I think that it would be a lot easier to use if it had a simple to use Bash or PHP script that could create a "site".

I dont anticipate the multi-site setup would get a lot of use, but want to make sure I'm not setting things up in such a way that hinder its being used for a multi-site setup. I dont know how much need there would be for a script.

This would do it:

mkdir sites

cp -r my sites/mynewsite

I don't see the actual Phalcon modules.

There are no modules in cernl as of yet. There is only a lib/modules directory where they'll live. I'm undecided on whether cernl should ship with any modules or not, but it will probably ship with a basic example module whose purpose is more for documentation than actual functionality.

Hey check out the Phalcon Developer Tools "modules" project. You can create it with phalcon project asdf modules when you have the tools installed. I put a lot of work into that for the Phalcon Cookbook that we recently released.

Thank you! This is the kind of thing I need to look at, to see where I'm duplicating effort, and to see what is a relatively conventional way to set up a multi-module project.