We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Zephir: An outsider's perspective

First, let me say that I think Phalcon is very unique amongst the PHP framework offerings, which considering the sheer number of PHP frameworks is saying a lot, and I am not currently using Phalcon. I wouldn't post this if I didn't WANT to use Phalcon or if I felt the project wasn't extremely worthwhile. I am posting this to throw in a voice that I suspect is indicative of a much larger prospective developer base so that hopefully the next time around I can use Phalcon.

Background: I have about 25 years of programming experience dating back to the days of BASIC and Pascal. Many of those years were spent in C and a smaller set of those years were spent in C++. I made the switch to PHP for web development at the introduction of PHP4. My major issue with PHP is with its "loose" typing, which is where I see many security vulnerabilities have hidden over the years (as well as no requisite that variables be initialized).

Case Study: I am presently involved with building a large PHP-based web application. I am part of a team of about half a dozen developers with varying levels of experience. As part of the initial evaluations, we took a survey of the PHP framework landscape. The overwhelming theme seems to be that PHP frameworks have matured considerably and most of the "decent" frameworks share a similiar feature set. In evaluating our top choice, I was struck with the speed (or lack thereof) issue. Phalcon was considered for this project originally and I circled back after re-considering the value of the Phalcon approach and re-assessing its weaknesses.