We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Understanding MVC in Phalcon

I'm a beginner user of phalcon and have some doubts. I had seeking on the fórum, but I didn't found nothing similar.

1. How you design your application? Which layers?
  2. Do you use DAO Patterns or make searchs inside model together with business rules?

Accepted
answer
edited Apr '14

Honestly, to me, both of your questions highlight one of the neatest things about Phalcon, but also one of the hardest for newcomers (myself included) to overcome. Since I am still pretty new to Phalcon, I will answer your questions to best of my ability. But never fear, there are some smart people around here, so... just hang tight.

How you design your application? Which layers?

PHP design patterns are a hot topic of late and for good reason. Many developers are using PHP to construct more and more complex applications everyday, so it only stands to reason that Design Patterns will come up. If you are new to PHP in general, I would suggest you check out a GIT repo by Dominik Liebler. It contains a host of examples using all sorts of design patterns and will give you a good base line of how to approach an app during development. Another good resource, on the subject of design patterns, is an article over on Nettuts+ titled The Whens and Whys for PHP Design Patterns - by Patkos Csaba.

Now to answer your question. How ever you want! I know that's not what you want to hear, but it's true. If you just starting out though, I would suggest you install Phalcons DevTools. With this tool, you can scaffold out a blank project that will give you some structure to play with. Once you are comfortable, you can play around with it. Best to stick with a pattern though.

Do you use DAO Patterns or make searchs inside model together with business rules?