We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Verifications in INVO

Good day everyone. I have two questions regarding verification in INVO example.

1. I have built a validator in model User that checks if password field is longer than 8 characters. The problem is, when SessionController registerAction sends $password variable to model, it is already encrypted with sha1 and therefore model validator considers it longer that 8 characters and the validation passes, which shouldn't. Any suggestions?

2. In this registration form , I dont understand how warnigs like ''Warning! Please provide a valid password'' are generated if I dont enter the password. Where is the validation code that shows the warning? What activates the warning?

Since I'm a beginner, I would appreciate long explainations :P

Thank you all :)

I would add a check like this one here

https://github.com/phalcon/invo/blob/master/app/controllers/SessionController.php#L33

that checks the password length and if not 8 or more sets the relevant flash error message and returns false. This way you know how long your password is before it is hashed.

The validation comes from the model. It the record is correctly saved then all good otherwise the validate function provides the necessary messages back to the caller and the controller then sends them to the flash object

https://github.com/phalcon/invo/blob/master/app/models/Users.php#L8 https://github.com/phalcon/invo/blob/master/app/controllers/SessionController.php#L98

edited May '14
  1. This one checks if passwords are the same . But how do I check for length? If strlen($a)=8 ?

2. I think you are not referring to right thing. In session/register there is this :

if ($password != $repeatPassword) { $this->flash->error('Passwords are diferent'); return false; }

But if you enter different password, warning you get is