We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Phalcon Life Cycle Chart

I'm a Phalcon beginner and have done a few of the sample applications with minimal issues. However, I'm now trying to go beyond the sample apps and extend Phalcon to better suit my needs, but I'm having trouble figuring out when to do what....

That said, is there a Phalcon Webpage Life Cycle chart or some other sequential document that shows how each of Phalcon elements/components/code block/etc... get called and in what order?

@fuzzlog

I'm affraid your question is not so clear. Actually there is no global schema of how phalcon works. Instead you can find the documentation of each components in the doc.

For your question can you explain what you are trying to do exactly ? It will help us to lead you in the good direction.

edited Oct '14

In order to output an html document to the client via php/phalcon, Phalcon has to go through a series of steps as it goes from receiving the request, setting up its modules/classes/data structures/etc... so that eventually it produces the html that will be sent to the client browser.

What I'd like to know is if there is a document (something similar to this asp.net page/control lifecycle image that I can use to better find out in what sequence things work in Phalcon so I can figure out where I can inject any custom or overriding code I need to write to make Phalcon work better for me.

edited Oct '14

This kind of schema is pretty handy but as far as I know phalcon doesnt have.

However you can take a read at https://docs.phalcon.io/en/latest/reference/dispatching.html it will tell you more about the dispatch loop and the events that you can access.

If you have any more question about it feel free to ask.