We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Loading SwiftMailer without Composer autoloader

Hello, guys. I am new in PHP and Phalcon, so i can't understand many things. Please, tell me how i can properly load SwiftMailer into my app without Composer autoloader. I use next approach:

loader.php:

require_once($config->application->vendorsDir.'swiftmailer/swiftmailer/lib/swift_required.php');

$loader = new \Phalcon\Loader();

$loader->registerPrefixes(
    array(
       "Swift_"    => $config->application->vendorsDir.'swiftmailer/swiftmailer/lib/classes/Swift',
    )
);

But is this right? Should i use this require_once in that place? If not, please tell, where it must be?

Accepted
answer

I am sorry, but why don't you use the Composer?

composer.json:

{
    "require": {
        "swiftmailer/swiftmailer": "v5.4.0",
    }
}

loader.php:

/**
     * Include composer autoloader
     */
    require __DIR__ . $config->application->vendorsDir . '/autoload.php';

somewhere in the project:

$message = \Swift_Message::newInstance()

I thought, using Composer autoloader with Phalcon autoloader will slow my app. Today tested it with WebGrind and seems like it's not. The speed is almost the same. Thank you for answer!

edited Apr '15

Classmap might help you, if you have a lot of packages and worry about performace.

https://getcomposer.org/doc/04-schema.md#classmap

Additionally, it can dump an optimized autoloader that converts PSR-0/4 packages into classmap ones for performance reasons. In large applications with many classes, the autoloader can take up a substantial portion of every request's time. Using classmaps for everything is less convenient in development, but using this option you can still use PSR-0/4 for convenience and classmaps for performance.

https://getcomposer.org/doc/03-cli.md#dump-autoload

edited Apr '15