We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

How would you render a sub view/widget inside a main window?

Hello,

I'm very new to Phalcon and excited. I've watched tutorials and get the basics of Phalcon's controllers and view hierarchy but I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around what I would like to achieve. I currently have a header, footer, side left panel and Main Content all loading using the regular hierarchical rendering mixed with some partials in my DashboardController file. Currently the Main Content area is empty as I'd like my widgets to load in there. In my old php project I have a folder of 'apps' where each app is built from pure php (no frameworks) and I simply include each folder and load the app into a sub view in the Main Content area.

(app folder structure example)
app/todo/index.php 
app/calendar/index.php
app/metrics/index.php

So my questions are:

• In Phalcon, how can I look into an apps folder, with no phalcon structure just regular php, and load that in my empty Main Content area in my DashboardController?
  • Eventually I'll convert those apps to all use phalcon controllers and views so how would I then render that app view inside the Main Content area?

All in all how do I render an external view within a view?

This may or may not be too complex to answer so any tips, advice or some form of direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a bunch.

I use custom routing and don't use volt, but you could also solve w/ regular routing and volt in a similar fashion.

I have a main layout file... views/layouts/layout.phtml That contains the shell of the page.

Inside of layout.phtml, I have an echo of content:

<?php echo $this->getContent(); ?>

Inside of my routes file, I have the get:

$router->addGet("/",[
    'controller' => 'noauth',
    'action' => 'index'
]);

Then inside the controller, I have:

<?php

use Phalcon\Http\Response;