We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Confirm Form Resubmission Error/Document Expired (Form, Browser Back/Forward Buttons)

Hello,

I am new to Phalcon and would like to know if there is an existing way of handling Back/Forward buttons on form and cache errors that are shown in the browser? How do you deal with this in your code?

In Chrome, I often see "Confirm Form Resubmission, ERR_CACHE_MISS, [...], Press the reload button to resubmit the data needed to load the page."

In Firefox, I often see "Document Expired, This document is no longer available. The requested document is not available in Firefox's cache."

If I I refresh the page, I am asked if I authorize the browser to re-submit the form information to display the page.

In other frameworks such as Laravel I don't have that problem. I think they store form data in the session to bypass the problem. I am not an expert so I might be wrong on how they do it. But I know I don't see this error that could scare some users if they play with the browser back/forward buttons around forms.

Thank you.

edited Feb '16

You could try to add a redirect after you submit your form with the following code in your controller:

if ($this->request->isPost()) {
    /** do some logic */
    $this->response->redirect("somecontroller/someaction");
    $this->response->send();
    exit;
}

However this will cause your volt fields to lose their values, you can also implement CSRF protection to prevent the form from being able to submit twice.

In your VOLT template:

{{ hidden_field(security.getTokenKey(), 'value' : security.getToken()) }}

In your controller:

if ($this->request->isPost() && ) {
    if ($this->security->checkToken()) {
        /** Check passed, the request is guaranteeded to be unique */
        /** Add any other logic here */
    }
}